Society & Museum History
The Niagara Historical Society & Museum was founded in 1895 to encourage the study of Canadian History and Literature, to collect and preserve Canadian historical records and relics, and to build Canadian loyalty and patriotism.
The Niagara Historical Society & Museum has continued to ensure that Niagara’s rich heritage is not forgotten, that the events that occurred in the past are relevant today and that future generations will be able to understand the perseverance, determination and innovation of those who came before them.
A large portion of the activities of the Society are focused on the activities of the Museum; however, the Society is the outreach portion of the organization, ensuring that the history of Niagara is understood by the community and visitors. Its aim is to continue publishing, educating and providing a valuable resource for the residents of Niagara.
The Niagara Historical Society & Museum houses one of the finest collections of early Canadian artefacts and archives. Visitors today are treated with one of the most extensive collections, reflecting the history of one of the oldest settlements in Ontario.
The Niagara Historical Society & Museum consists of three independent buildings merged together. The three buildings are: the High School building (built in 1875), Memorial Hall (built in 1906) and the Link Building (built in 1971).